2018-2019 Staff

karen Bauer

Executive Director

As an assistant professor of journalism and student media adviser at Bismarck State College, karen Bauer might never retire—as long as she continues learning from her students. She began her journalism career many years ago...

Katie Winbauer


Katie Winbauer is a law student at the University of North Dakota. She was first elected president during the 2017-2018 school year while finishing her degree from Valley City State University in professional communications with...

Sue Skalicky

Secretary and Treasurer

Sue Skalicky is a writer, speaker, and pursuer of abundant life. Over the past 30 years, she has worked as a medical photographer, photojournalist, leadership trainer, writer, and teacher. She has worked with the Navigators and...

Eric Tyulyandin

Board Member

Eric Tyulyandin is a student at West Fargo High School.

DelRae Steiner

Board Member

DelRae Steiner is a junior at West Fargo high school. She is the editor of the student newspaper, The Packers.

Alyssa Meier

Board Member

Alyssa Meier is a Bismarck native and 2013 graduate of Bismarck State College. She fell in love with the world of newspapers at 15 years old, when she was a sophomore in high school. She has spent the last decade studying journalism...

Hunter Andes

Board Member

Hunter is a student at Minot State University. He previously attended Bismarck State College and was the editor of the campus newspaper, The Mystician.

Jeremy Murphy

Board Member

Jeremy Murphy advises The Packer newspaper, The Yearling yearbook and Packer TV at West Fargo High School. He also teaches photography and graphics courses. Jeremy is the North Dakota chairman for the Journalism Education Ass...

NDSMA connects student journalists in North Dakota
Executive Board