2019-2020 Staff

karen Bauer

Executive Director

As an assistant professor of journalism and student media adviser at Bismarck State College, karen Bauer might never retire—as long as she continues learning from her students. She began her journalism career many years ago...

Katie Winbauer


Katie Winbauer is a law student at the University of North Dakota. She was first elected president during the 2017-2018 school year while finishing her degree from Valley City State University in professional communications with...

Daniel Burbank

Vice President

Ethan DeGree

Secretary and Treasurer

Ethan DeGree is a photographer and graphic designer based in Bismarck. He first fell in love with photography and design when he worked on his high school’s news publication. Ethan attended Minnesota State University Moorhead...

Amy Sisk


Amy Sisk covers energy and environment for the Bismarck Tribune. She previously reported for WESA, the NPR member station in Pittsburgh, as well as Prairie Public. A Seattle native, Sisk got her start in journalism working...

Cole Bernhardt


Cole Bernhardt is a multimedia producer at Bismarck State College while also teaching part- time in the Mass Comm department. He has worked in the multimedia field for fifteen years specializing in disciplines such as cinematography,...

DelRae Steiner


DelRae Steiner is a junior at West Fargo high school. She is the editor of the student newspaper, The Packers.

Alyssa Meier


Alyssa Meier is a Bismarck native and 2013 graduate of Bismarck State College. She fell in love with the world of newspapers at 15 years old, when she was a sophomore in high school. She has spent the last decade studying journalism...

NDSMA connects student journalists in North Dakota
Executive Board